The University of Michigan and the International Institute are proud to announce that we are once again a Fulbright Top Producing Institution for U.S. Students. This recognition is given to the U.S. colleges and universities that recorded the highest number of applicants selected for the 2023-24 Fulbright U.S. Student Program. U-M consistently receives this Top Producer recognition for producing Fulbright finalists.

“Fulbright’s Top Producing Institutions represent the diversity of America’s higher education community. Dedicated administrators support students and scholars at these institutions to fulfill their potential and rise to address tomorrow’s global challenges. We congratulate them, and all the Fulbrighters who are making an impact the world over,” said Lee Satterfield, Assistant Secretary of State for Educational and Cultural Affairs.

Congratulations to the 27 students and 3 faculty scholars from U-M Ann Arbor who received Fulbright awards in 2023-24! These students and scholars join the ranks of the more than 1,000 students and 600 faculty scholars that U-M has produced since the Fulbright program was introduced in 1946.

The Fulbright Student competition is administered at the International Institute and supported by several dedicated advisors as well as U-M faculty who guide students through the application process. The full list of U-M Fulbright U.S. Student and Scholar finalists is below, and additional information about the current grantees can be found at Michigan News. For more information about Fulbright and how to apply, visit the Fulbright U.S. Student Program and Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program pages on our website. Students and alumni are encouraged to sign up for information sessions and advising as they prepare applications for the 2025-26 program year. Faculty and staff may apply now for 2025-26 awards.

See the Chronicle of Higher Education for a complete list of top producers of Fulbright U.S. Scholars and Students.

2023-24 Fulbright U.S. Student Program Finalists

(Name, award type, country)

Sinan Aktay, Open Study/Research Award, Turkey (Türkiye)

Gabriella Armstrong, Open Study/Research Award, Kosovo

Fox Baudelaire, Fulbright Canada Research Award, Canada

Cassandra Bergen, English Teaching Assistant Award, Spain

David Boettger, Open Study/Research Award, Spain

Mariana Boully Perez, English Teaching Assistant Award, Colombia

Miriam Chung, English Teaching Assistant Award, Spain

Aniket Dagar, Fulbright-Nehru Open Study/Research Award, India

Samantha Dell'Imperio, Fulbright/Casten Family Foundation Award at the University of Gastronomic Sciences, Italy

Abigail Gallup, English Teaching Assistant Award, Argentina

Anmol Ghavri, Fulbright-Nehru Open Study/Research Award, India

Leena Ghrayeb, Open Study/Research Award, Jordan

Sara Gleason, English Teaching Assistant Award, Brazil

Chloe Halprin, English Teaching Assistant Award, Mexico

Jerry Juratli, Open Study/Research Award, Germany

Bridget Kelly-Vincz, Open Study/Research Award, Romania

Madison Krumins, English Teaching Assistant Award, Latvia

Kevin Landrum, English Teaching Assistant Award, Mexico

Sahita Manda, Fulbright-Nehru Open Study/Research Award, India

Peter Matarweh, Fulbright/French Government English Teaching Assistant Award, France

Isabel Olson, Open Study/Research Award, South Africa

Neya Ramprasad, English Teaching Assistant Award - Secondary, South Korea

Natalie Suh, English Teaching Assistant Award, Indonesia

Jagienka Timek, Fulbright-Austrian Marshall Plan Foundation Award for Graduate Studies and PhD Research in Science and Technology, Austria

Megan Trapp, Open Study/Research Award, Brazil

Kevin Wang, English Teaching Assistant Award, Poland

Kayla Zhang, Open Study/Research Award, Germany

2023-24 Fulbright U.S. Scholars

(Name, title, school or college, foreign institution, country, project title)

Andre Boehman, Vennema Professor of Engineering and Professor of Mechanical Engineering, College of Engineering; University of Vigo, Spain; Improving Efficiency and Sustainability of Spanish Maritime and Naval Operations

Se-Mi Oh, Associate Professor of Asian Languages and Cultures, LSA; Seoul National University, South Korea; The Han River: A Story of Urban Planning and Ecology

Gabor Orosz, Associate Professor of Mechanical Engineering and Associate Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, College of Engineering; Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary; Balancing while Rolling: From Human Riders to Autonomous Robots

The Fulbright Program, established over 75 years ago to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries, is a program of the U.S. Department of State, with funding provided by the U.S. Government. Participating governments and host institutions, corporations, and foundations around the world also provide direct and indirect support to the Program.”

Fulbright alumni work to make a positive impact on their communities, sectors, and the world and have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 80 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders and changemakers who build mutual understanding between the people of the United State and the people of other countries. 

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit