Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}


Supporting CMENAS

The Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies (CMENAS) is dedicated to promoting a broader and deeper understanding of the region–its histories, cultures, languages, and peoples–through research, education, and outreach programs. CMENAS is committed to creating a supportive environment where scholars, educators, students, and the community have the opportunity to engage in dialogue and to study current and historical events related to the Middle East and Northern Africa.

CMENAS gifts help support internships, student groups activities, faculty and student travel, workshops and lectures, visiting scholars, artists, and performers, and special courses related to the Middle East and Northern Africa.

For more information on the various ways you can support CMENAS, please contact our center at (734) 647-4143 or

CMENAS Support Fund (Endowment)

This endowment fund is to help support the mission of the Center by continuing to provide programming, research, and outreach in order to foster understanding of the Middle East region for the general public, students, and university community, and to help support the daily operation and staffing of the Center. [DONATE]

CMENAS Strategic Fund

Donations to this fund support the most pressing priorities of the Center for Middle Eastern and North African Studies, including public and academic events and outreach activities such as K-12 curriculum development and professional development workshops. [DONATE]

Mahfoud Bennoune Memorial Thesis Award

In memory of Professor Mahfoud Bennoune (1936-2004), this prize is awarded to a CMENAS student in recognition of an outstanding M.A. thesis that focuses on North Africa and emphasizes values that Dr. Bennoune fought for: tolerance, secularism, human rights and women’s rights. [DONATE]

Richard P. Mitchell Memorial Prize

The Richard P. Mitchell Memorial Prize was initiated in 1986 to honor the late Professor Mitchell, who taught Middle Eastern and North African studies at the University of Michigan from 1956 to 1983. The prize has been awarded annually since 1987, and is offered to an incoming or continuing graduate student in the Center's Modern Middle Eastern and North African Studies MA program. [DONATE]