Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$}}

Sang-Yong Nam Award

The Nam Center for Korean Studies at the University of Michigan announced the inauguration of the Sang-Yong Nam Award in Korean Studies in February 2012. Once a year, the Nam Center honors one graduating senior or recent graduate of the University of Michigan whose academic achievement, citizenship, service to the community, and commitment to Korean Studies exemplify the values to which Sang-Yong Nam dedicated his life. The award comes with a $3000 cash prize.

Previous Winners of the Sang-Yong Nam Award

2012  |  Cynthia Yoon

2013  |  Min Joo Kim

2014  |  Grace Soignet and Lyndsey Twining

2015  |  Sara Stearns and Sam Yoo 

2016  |  Yoolim Jung

2017 | Kendall Dumas and Jamie Forgacs

2018 | Rachel Epperly and Hunter Zhao

2019 | Taepyo (Tommy) Kim

2020 | Danielle Kim

2021 | Heather Duval

2022 | Brian Tran