Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

PhD Students

David Chan
Asian Languages and Cultures
History of Chinese Religions, Cultural History of China, Chinese Intellectual History, South China | dthchan@umich.edu

Siwei Cheng
Sociology
Social Stratification and Inequality, Quantitative Methodology, Economic Inequality, Life Course Research, Work and Family, Social Networks | chengsw@umich.edu

Angeline Baecker
Asian Languages and Cultures
Modern Chinese Intellectual History, Visual Culture, and Literature | abaecker@umich.edu

Katherine Dimmery
Asian Languages and Cultures/Anthropology
Modern Chinese Literature, Folklore and Religious Culture in Southwest China | kdimmery@umich.edu

Yilang Feng
Political Science and Statistics
International Relations and Statistical Methods | ylfeng@umich.edu

Yuequan Guo
Political Science
Comparative Politics; Political Economy | yuequang@umich.edu

Huatse Gyal
Anthropology
Social Change, Resettlement, Ecological Conservation, Space and Place, Tibet, China | huatse@umich.edu

Eric Haynie
Asian Languages and Culture
Tibetan Buddhism, Religious History | ehaynie@umich.edu

Yang Hua
History
Modern China, Soviet Union, Global/International History, Intellectual history | huayang@umich.edu

Joshua Hubbard
History and Women's Studies
Transnational Histories of Nationalism, Eugenics, and the Body with Theoretical Investments in Post-Colonialism, Queer Theory, and Childhood Studies | hubbardj@umich.edu

Ujin Kim
Anthropology
China/Central Asia/Morality/Nomads/Language Ideologies | ujinkim@umich.edu

Jaymin Kim
History
18th & 19th C. China, Borderlands, Legal Imperialism | jaymin@umich.edu

Deanna Kolberg
History
Comparative Politics; Authoritarian Institutions; Regime Change in Asia | dkolberg@umich.edu

Adrienne Lagman
Anthropology
Law and Legal Systems, Gender, Performance, Ideology; China | aelagman@umich.edu

Ho-Chak Law
Musicology
Chinese Music History and Theory, Chinese Instrumental Music in the 20th Century and Onward, Chinese Opera, Chinese Musical Notations, Film Music, Javanese Gamelan, Theories of Ethnicity and Nationalism, and Media Technologies | hclaw@umich.edu

Minna So Min Lee
Asian Languages and Cultures
leeminna@umich.edu

Jin Li
Anthropology
Religion and Conversion, Discourse and Ideology, Historical Anthropology, History of Everyday Life, China, Tibet | lijin@umich.edu

Sheng Long
Anthropology
Historical Anthropology, Landscape, Anthropology of Law, Environment, Archive, Memory, Kinship, Place and Space, Religion, Rural Societies | longls@umich.edu

Fusheng Luo
History
Social, Cultural, and Legal History of Late Imperial and Modern China; Colonialism, Treaty Ports | fusheng@umich.edu

Ruby MacDougall
Asian Languages and Cultures
Modern Chinese Performance and Visual Culture; Dance History; Gender and Space | rubymac@umich.edu

James Meador
Anthropology
New Media, Intellectual History, Russian Studies, Russian History, Russian Nationalism, Russian Intellectual History, Anthropology, and Anthropology of Religion | meadorj@umich.edu

Blake Miller
Political Science
Mass Media in Authoritarian Countries, Political Methodology, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing | blakeapm@umich.edu

Tamar Ozery
Law
Corporate and Securities Law, Comparative Corporate Law, Chinese Legal System, Law and Development, Legal Theories of Economic Development and State Capitalism | tamygros@umich.edu

Richard Reid
History
Historian of the Ming Dynasty, Contested Borderlands, Government, Autonomy, and Local History | reidrjr@umich.edu

Mike Thompson
Political Science
Chinese Politics, Authoritarian Regimes, State-Building, Comparative Law and Courts | mrthomp@umich.edu

Gerui Wang
Art History
Chinese Art | gerui@umich.edu

Nicole Wu
Political Science
Comparative/International Political Economy | nicolewu@umich.edu

Yujeong Yang
Political Science
Restructuring of Chinese State Owned Enterprises and the Chinese Labor Disputes | yujeong@umich.edu

Chun Lam (Charlotte) Yiu
Asian Languages and Cultures
Chinese Literature--in particular late imperial fictional works and their commentaries and English translations | charyiu@umich.edu

Xiaoxi Zhang
Comparative Literature
Iberian and Latin American Studies; Studies of Portuguese-speaking African countries; East Asian Studies; Critical Translation Studies; Comparative Cultural Studies | xiaoxizh@umich.edu

Yu-chao Zhao
Anthropology
Paleolithic Archaeology and Human Evolution; Lithic Technology; Hunter-Gatherer Subsistence and Settlement Organization; Human Evolution and Environmental Change | yuchzhao@umich.edu

Xiang Zhou
Sociology
Social Stratification, Social Demography, Quantitative Methodology, Contemporary China | xiangzh@umich.edu