The University of Michigan and the International Institute are proud to announce that we are once again a Fulbright Top Producing Institution for both U.S. Students and U.S. Scholars. This recognition is given to the U.S. colleges and universities that received the highest number of applicants selected for the 2022-23 Fulbright U.S. Student and Fulbright U.S. Scholar Programs.

Congratulations to the 15 students from U-M Ann Arbor and 10 faculty scholars from Ann Arbor and Dearborn who received Fulbright awards in 2022-23! The University of Michigan is among 17 institutions in the country to be named a Top Producer for both the Fulbright U.S. Student and Scholar programs. U-M consistently receives this Top Producer recognition for producing Fulbright finalists.

The Fulbright Student competition is administered at the International Institute and supported by several dedicated advisors as well U-M faculty who guide students through the application process. The full list of Fulbright U.S. Student and Scholar finalists is below, and additional information about the current grantees can be found on the Michigan News site. For more information about Fulbright and how to apply, visit the Fulbright U.S. Student Program and Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program pages on our website. Students and alumni are encouraged to sign up for information sessions and advising as they prepare applications for the 2024-25 program year.

2022-23 Fulbright U.S. Student Program Finalists

(Name, award type, country)

Neha Allathur, Open Study/Research Award, Denmark

Zack Blumberg, Open Study/Research Award, Germany

Virginie de Smet, English Teaching Assistant Award, Benin

Marley Duerst, English Teaching Assistant Award, Mexico

Francesca Duong, English Teaching Assistant Award, South Korea

Amelia Eichengreen, Open Study/Research Award, Italy

Jonas Gomes, English Teaching Assistant Award, Italy

Omar Masood, English Teaching Assistant Award, Germany

Reed Puleo, Open Study/Research Award, Austria

Christopher Pumford, English Teaching Assistant Award, Morocco

Joy Richardson, English Teaching Assistant Award, South Korea

Tessa Schmidt, Open Study/Research Award, Fiji

Julian Schultz, Open Study/Research Award, Albania

Bo Shimm in, Open Study/Research Award (Arts), Italy

Rubani Walia, English Teaching Assistant Award, Taiwan

2022-23 Fulbright U.S. Scholars

(Name, school or college, foreign institution, country)

Reuven Avi-Yonah, Law School; Vienna University of Economics and Business, Austria

Katherine Bauer, School of Public Health; University of Guelph, Canada

David Bradley; Medical School; University of Rwanda, College of Medicine and Health Sciences, Rwanda

Daniel Davis, College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters (UM-Dearborn); Ateneo de Manila University, Philippines

Paul Draus, College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters (UM-Dearborn); Vytautus Magnus University, Lithuania

Paige Fischer, School of Environment and Sustainability; Universidad Austral de Chile, Chile

Rumaan Malhotra; College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; National Centre for Biological Sciences, India

Sherri Sheinfeld Gorin, Medical School/School of Public Health; Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel

Scott Spector; College of Literature, Science, and the Arts; University of Salzburg, Austria

Kristian Stewart, College of Arts, Sciences, and Letters (UM-Dearborn); University of Peloponnese, Greece

The Fulbright Program was established over 75 years ago to increase mutual understanding between the people of the United States and the people of other countries. While the primary source of funding for the Fulbright Program is an annual appropriation made by the U.S. Congress to the U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, it benefits from additional support from foreign partner governments, non-governmental organizations, private organizations, corporate partnerships, and individual donors. Importantly, U.S. and foreign host institutions provide support as well.

Fulbright alumni work to make a positive impact on their communities, sectors, and the world and have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 78 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders and changemakers who carry forward the Fulbright mission of enhancing mutual understanding.

For more information about the Fulbright Program, visit