The International Institute at the University of Michigan welcomes 15 students and eight alumni as finalists for the Fulbright U.S. Student Program 2019-2020.

The term “finalist” denotes that a grant offer has been made but does not indicate acceptance/decline status. The notification process is still in progress; therefore, the number of finalists can fluctuate. In addition, five students and alumni have been named as alternates.

Twelve English Teaching Assistantships (ETA) were offered to alumni and students who will be assisting in classrooms throughout Europe and Eurasia, Sub-Saharan Africa, Asia, and South America. Two Arts Awards were offered to an alumna studying music composition in South Korea, and to graduate student studying dance in China. 

Nine Fulbright Study-Research Awards were made to students and recent graduates undertaking independent research projects throughout Asia, Europe and Eurasia, Sub-Saharan Africa, and South America. Proposed projects range from researching the availability and quality of trauma care in Kerala, India, to studying the relationships between Quechua and Aymara speakers in the Colca Valley in southern Peru.  

Of note, a finalist has been offered the Fulbright-EDUFI Fellowship, funded in cooperation with the Finnish National Agency for Education (EDUFI) of the Finnish Ministry of Education and Culture. A maximum of five fellowships are awarded each year to applicants perusing doctoral research in any Finnish institution of higher education, research, or other acceptable organization.

The Fulbright-University of Strathclyde Award was made to an alumnus who plans to examine the evolving Scottish independence movement in the post-Brexit era. The university, in partnership with the Fulbright U.S. Student Program, offers a maximum of five awards yearly to postgraduate students seeking to pursue a masters or PhD at Strathclyde.

The Fulbright U.S. Student Program is administered on campus by the International Institute. “We’re proud to see that the University of Michigan will be well represented in the Fulbright U.S. Student Program this year by this group of outstanding individuals,” says Heather Johnson, Fulbright Program advisor for the university. “These finalists represent a variety of academic backgrounds and degrees, and will all be bringing their talents to a wide array of locations around the world.”

The role of the Fulbright Program advisors at the International Institute is to provide applicants with the resources necessary to put forth a competitive application. “Our Fulbright Program advisors work throughout the year to support applicants, and offer advising, information sessions, and resources. We’re grateful that U-M applicants have campus-wide support throughout the application process,” explains Johnson. “Our applicants succeed not only because of the resources made available through the International Institute, but also because of the incredible support of faculty and staff on campus who encourage students to apply—and who directly participate in our campus process.” 

Those interested in exploring all possibilities offered through the Fulbright U.S. Student Program are encouraged to attend an information session or schedule an advising appointment. The campus deadline for the 2020-2021 competition is August 30, 2019. For more information, please contact a U-M Fulbright advisor:


2019-2020 Finalists

(Student, grant offered, country)

Brianna Borrello, ETA, Taiwan

Katherine Browne, Study-Research, Mauritius

Courtney Caulkins, ETA, Brazil

Anne Creighton, Study-Research, Peru

Rachel Epperly, Arts, South Korea

Lenard Foust, Arts, China

Arooshe Giroti, ETA, Cyprus

Alesha Kotian, ETA, Spain

Michael Kuntz, Study-Research (Fulbright-University of Strathclyde Award), United Kingdom

Jonathan Overstreet, ETA, South Africa

Sreehari Panicker, Study-Research, India

Moniek van Rheenen, Study-Research, Indonesia

Griffin St. Onge, ETA, France

Kimberly Sanchez, Study-Research, Mongolia

Timothy Sell, ETA, Andorra

Athena Stavropoulos, ETA, Greece

Amy Trenh, ETA, Taiwan

Michael Ward, ETA, Taiwan

Parrish Wright, Study-Research, Italy

Allegra Wrocklage, Study-Research (Fulbright-EDUFI), Finland

Brianne Yeskey, ETA, India

Maryellen Zbrozek, ETA, Poland

Yimeng Zhao, Studey-Research, Russia