

Commencement 2007





Opening Remarks

Angela D. Dillard
Department Chair
Richard A. Meisler Collegiate Professor of Afroamerican &
African Studies, History, and in the Residential College



Student SpeakerSerena Bernal
History Class of 2022

Undergraduate Teaching Award

Nina Naffziger University of Michigan History Club

Undergraduate Award for Leadership and Service, LSA Honors Awards, History Honors Awards

Perrin Selcer
Director of Undergraduate Studies
Associate Professor

Kate Wroblewski
Assistant Director of Undergraduate Studies
Lecturer



Keynote Address: History Between Past and Future

Howard Brick Louis Evans Professor of History

Professor Brick received his bachelor's, master's, and doctoral degrees from the University of Michigan. After serving on the faculty of the University of Oregon and Washington University, St. Louis, he joined U-M History in 2009. A specialist in twentieth-century US intellectual and cultural history, Professor Brick is the author or co-author of five books, including his latest, *At the Center: American Thought and Culture in the Mid-Twentieth Century, 1948-1963,* with Casey N. Blake and Daniel H. Borus. He received U-M History's Undergraduate Teaching Award in 2021.

Recognition of Graduates

Katherine French Associate Chair J. Frederick Hoffman Professor of History

Matthew Spooner Assistant Professor

University of Michigan Department of History Class of 2022

Krista Anna Inga Albertins • Lily Catherine Antor • Bridget Bantner Laurel Elizabeth Baty • Serena Bernal • Tamara Felisha Bingham Ethan Emory Black • Rachaell Kahlan gritts Black Rory Charlotte Bobigan • Miles Taylor Bolton • Alyssa Bonebright William Michael Brody • Joshua Scott Burg • Ronan Liam Cain Eleanor Rose Lepere Campe • Sarah Leah Champness Justin David Chiang • Vivian Chiao • Luis Cinnamon Claire Glenn Cohen • Andrew Worden Connolly Tiffany Mary Crosbie-Walsh • Adelaide Ruth Dempsey Evan Glen Dempsey • Anthony Joseph DiBello Jake Tyler Digiansante • Nicholas Spencer Dolloff Owen Michael Dwyer • Benjamin Ross Fallick • Maria Isabel Fiebing Matthew Ross Fischer • Noah William Fisher • Gabriel Flores Lily Grace Friedman • Thomas William Gaffney • Hannah Zoe Gelber Sean Patrick Gillikin • Adam Philip Gilmour • Lillian Kate Gooding Jesse Alexander Goulding • Leah Christine Gowatch Bridget Grabowski • Addison Hope Groe • Caroline Aimee Grueneis Aakriti Gupta • Samuel Hoyt Hackett • Enisa Heri Sean Patrick Higgins • Hailey Rose Hoffman • Dania Jaamour Delaney Jorgensen • Karl Jovinge • Zachary Alex Kaplan Olivia Marie Kato • Raymond Earl Kennedy Jr. • Jackson Hewitt King Kathryn Anna Regina Kugler • Anna Lee LaSata Sheila Mary Lawrence • Emma Shaffer Levine • Hannah-Ruth Long Jessica Lauren Lonsway • Hannah Elizabeth Mackay



Michael Manichanh • Candace Coleman Alexandria Marshall Daniela Martinez • Samuel Jacob Mathisson • Kyle John McEowen Anne Lucie McGill • Michael McInerney Margaret Johnston Michalowski • Zev Miklethun Cameron James Miller • Madelyn Ruth Miller Matthew Donovan Mills • Ann Sheridan Mintun Mariah Kaylee Missentzis • Anna Elise Napiewocki • Celine Nasser Cole Harris Nyboer • Kelly Erin O'Donnell • James Harrison Olson Brendan S. Owens • Annelise Kathryn Perry • Jared Peters Jacob Evan Ratner • Matthew James Riekens Natalie Sarah Rosenblatt • Jack B. Roshco Maxwell Joseph Rothman • Maxwell P. Russ Elavna Lauren Rose Sabelhaus • Anna Olivia Schaftel Alyssa Marea Schefke • Chauncey Charles Seeger Paris Thomas Shusterfallou • Emily Athena Simone Adam Jacobson Smee • Lindsey Willow Smith Abigail Hilary Snyder • Anya Christine Soller • Rohit Sandeep Soman Jacqueline M. Spizizen • Ethan Springer Stancroff • Jill Celia Stecker Noah Charles Streng • Callie Shay Teitelbaum • Arjun Thakkar Kathryn Todd • Sarah Elizabeth Tolchin • William James Townsend Kaitlyn Alexandra Tracy • Austin James Trychel Jennifer Flizabeth Tzetzo • Anna Marie Vanneste Jonathan Adam Vaysman • Justin Villa • Liat Chaia Weinstein Hannah Margaret Weirens • Shane Thomas Werner Sadie Louise Willingham • Tara Sky Woodward Isabella Yockey • Walker Ahrens Young • Zigian Zheng