Skip to Content

Search: {{$root.lsaSearchQuery.q}}, Page {{$root.page}}

Steering Committee

Samer M. Ali
Director, Center for Middle Eastern & North African Studies; Associate Professor of Arabic and Islamic Culture, 4072 202 South Thayer Building
734.764.1401 / samerali@umich.edu

Hakem Al-Rustom
Alex Manoogian Professor of Modern Armenian History, Assistant Professor of History and Anthropology
hakemaa@umich.edu

Kathryn Babayan
Associate Professor of Iranian History & Culture, 4012 STB
734.763.1597 / babayan@umich.edu

Kevork Bardakjian
Marie Manoogian Professor of Armenian Languages and Literatures;
Professor, Middle East Studies
4135 STB
734.763.7655 / kbar@umich.edu

Tamar Boyadjian
Assistant Professor of Medieval Literature, Michigan State University
517.884.4437 / tamar@msu.edu

Jay Cook
Professor, History, 1759 Haven Hall
734.763.7860 | jwcook@umich.edu

Gottfried Hagen
Chair, Middle East Studies;
Associate Professor of Turkish Studies, 4111 STB
734.763.1596 / ghagen@umich.edu

Yopie Prins
Professor of Comparative Literature and English
734.763.2351 / chair-complit@umich.edu

Ara Sanjian
Associate Professor in Armenian and Middle Eastern History, U-M Dearborn
arasan@umd.umich.edu

Andrew Shryock
Chair and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Anthropology, 101 West Hall
ashryock@umich.edu

Ronald G. Suny
William H. Sewell, Jr. Distinguished University Professor of History
1767 Haven Hall
rgsuny@umich.edu

Melanie Schulze Tanielian
Director, Armenian Studies Program;
Associate Professor of History
2520 Haven Hall
meltan@umich.edu

Geneviève Zubrzycki
Associate Professor, Sociology
734.764.7501 / genez@umich.edu