Alumni News

Alumni, please send news on your activities since graduation to Include your name, class year(s), degree(s), current activities, as well as address updates so that we may send you occasional postings. Please let us know if we may post this news on our website and if we may share your contact information with current students or recent alumni interested in pursuing an internship or career in your field.

Guntra Aistara (MA REES/MS Natural Resources & Environment ‘98, PhD Natural Resources & Environment ‘08) is assistant professor in the Department of Environmental Sciences and Policy at Central European University in Budapest. (7/1/13)

Louis Albertini (BA REES/International Studies ’13) was selected to be a 2015-16 Princeton in Asia Fellow in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Jonathan Bolton (PhD Slavic ‘01) received the Modern Language Association’s 11th Aldo and Jeanne Scaglione Prize for Studies in Slavic Languages and Literatures for Worlds of Dissent: Charter 77, the Plastic People of the Universe, and Czech Culture under Communism (Harvard UP, 2012). (5/14/14)

George Breslauer (BA Political Science ’66, MA Political Science/Russian Studies Graduate Certificate ’68, PhD Political Science ’73), professor emeritus of political science at UC-Berkeley, was elected to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences. (3/23/15)

Mary Cavender (PhD History ’97) and Karen Petrone (PhD History ’94) co-edited Everyday Life in Russia Past and Present (Indiana UP, 2015) w/ C. Chatterjee and D. Ransel. (3/23/15)

Susanne Cohen (PhD Anthropology ‘10) is lecturer in anthropology at the University of Chicago. (5/1/13)

Paul Duffy (PhD Anthropology ‘10) is a Social Science and Humanities Research Council of Canada Research Fellow in the Department of Anthropology at the University of Toronto. (7/1/13)

Ina Ganguli (MPP/REES Graduate Certificate ‘04) is assistant professor at the Stockholm Institute of Transition Economics at the Stockholm School of Economics. (7/1/13)

Krista Goff (PhD History ’14), assistant professor of history at the University of Miami, was a 2014-15 postdoctoral fellow at the Davis Center for Russian and Eurasian Studies at Harvard University.

Anne Gorsuch (PhD History ‘92) and Diane Koenker (MA History ’71, PhD History ’76) co-edited The Socialist Sixties: Crossing Borders in the Second World (Indiana UP, 2013). (6/15/13)

Kathryn Graber (MA Anthropology ’06, MA REES ’08, PhD Anthropology ‘12) is assistant professor of anthropology and Central Eurasian studies at Indiana University. (8/1/14)

Erik Herron (BA REES ‘90) has been promoted to professor of political science at the University of Kansas. (5/1/13)

Jesse Johnston (PhD Musicology ‘08, MSI ‘12) is a program officer in the National Endowment for the Humanities’ Division of Preservation and Access. (6/25/13)

Kari Johnstone (BA Political Science ’92) received the 2014 LSA Humanitarian Service Award. (3/23/15)

Laura Kennedy (PhD Musicology ’09) is assistant professor of musicology at Furman University. (5/28/15)

Padraic Kenney (PhD History ’92) is vice-president/president-elect of the Association for Slavic, East European, and Eurasian Studies. (3/23/15)

Corina Kesler (PhD Comparative Literature ’11) is a research fellow in the Michigan-Mellon Project on Egalitarianism and the Metropolis, a joint program of the Taubman College of Architecture and Urban Planning and LSA. (3/23/15)

Lori Khatchadourian (PhD Classical Art & Archaeology ‘08) is assistant professor of Near Eastern studies at Cornell University. (6/25/13)

Diane Koenker (MA History ’71, PhD History ’76) received the 2014 Outstanding Achievement Award from the Association for Women in Slavic Studies. (3/23/15)

Maria Kontak (PhD Slavic ’81) is vice president for communications at the American Russian Cultural Cooperation Foundation. (3/23/15)

David Kostelancik (MA REES ‘88) became Senior State Department Advisor to the U.S. Congressional Commission on Security and Cooperation in Europe in August 2014. (9/1/14)

Claudia Koziol (MPP ‘09) is a Foreign Service officer with USAID. (6/25/13)

Jonathan Larson (PhD Anthropology ‘07) published Critical Thinking in Slovakia after Socialism (U of Rochester Press, 2013). (7/1/13)

Erika Lehrer (PhD Anthropology ‘06) is the author of Jewish Poland Revisited: Heritage Tourism in Unquiet Places (Indiana UP, 2013). (6/25/13)

Morgan Y. Liu (PhD Anthropology ‘02), ) received the 2014 Central Eurasian Studies Society Book Award in the Social Sciences for Under Solomon’s Throne: Uzbek Visions of Renewal in Osh (Pittsburgh UP, 2012). (3/23/15)

McMann, Kelly (PhD Political Science ’00) is the author of Corruption as a Last Resort: Adapting to the Market in Central Asia (Cornell UP, 2014).

Kelly Miller (PhD Slavic ’02) is associate dean for Learning and Research Services at the University of Miami Libraries. (3/23/15)

Anna Mirkova (PhD History ‘06) is assistant professor of history at Old Dominion University. (6/25/13)

Charles Myers (PhD Political Science ‘02) is director of the University Press of Kansas. (2/24/14)

Seth Oppenheim (JD ‘03) is associate deputy counsel in the FBI’s National Security Law Branch. (2/24/14)

Sarah Perrine (REES MA/MPP ‘06) is CEO of the Trust for Social Achievement, an organization seeking to increase educational and employment levels among Bulgaria’s Roma population. (5/1/13)

Karen Petrone (PhD History ‘94) received the 2013 Heldt Prize for the Best Book in Slavic/Eastern European/Eurasian Studies for The Great War in Russian Memory (Indiana UP, 2011). (2/24/14)

Brendan Reardon (MA REES/MPP Public Policy ’13) received a one-year fellowship from the Department of Energy’s National Nuclear Security Administration that will support work on non-proliferation issues in the former Soviet Union. (3/23/15)

Jessica Robbins-Ruszkowski (PhD Anthropology/Graduate Certificate REES ’13) is assistant professor at the Institute of Gerontology and Department of Anthropology at Wayne State University. (3/23/15)

Rachel Schroeder (MA REES ‘12) co-wrote the article "The Crimes and Punishments of the 'Enemies of the Church' and the Nature of the Nature of Russia's Desecularizing Regime" in Religion, State, and Society. (11/2/13)

Maria Smith (MA REES /MPP Public Policy ’12) became a Presidential Management Fellow at the U.S. Department of State in October 2014. (3/23/15)

Alice Weinreb (PhD History ‘09) is assistant professor of history at Utah State University. (6/25/13)

Tara Zahra (PhD History ’05), professor of East European history at the University of Chicago, was named a 2014 MacArthur Fellow. (3/23/15)