Africa Index

Africa is a continent with 54 fully recognized sovereign states (countries), Two states with limited recognition and 9 territories.  It is the world's second-largest and second-most-populous continent, after Asia. It is surrounded by the Mediterranean Sea to the north, both the Suez Canal and the Red Sea along the Sinai Peninsula to the northeast, the Indian Ocean to the southeast, and the Atlantic Ocean to the west.